Yevgeny MRAVINSKY conducts Sergey Prokofiev (1891-1955)

In stock

A logical, albeit rare combination of works, presented by the Politburo to reflect victory and an irresistible force – understandably
in the case of Op.100 (1950) but unjustifiably in the case of Op.111 (1945-7), the ‘two-headed symphony’ which had the misfortune
to displease Stalin who expected an ode to his glory. Mravinsky seldom performed these symphonies but has left for posterity a
few ardent concert recordings.

PRD/DSD 350 121


BBC_Music_200  diapason_dor150

Browse this category: Ensembles